Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Science contacts

Contacts for responsive mode priorities
Science area contacts

If you have any queries regarding our responsive mode priorities, please use this contact list:

Contacts for responsive mode priorities

Responsive mode priority Contact Email Phone Strategic priority area
Animal health Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442196 Agriculture and food security
Bioenergy: generating new replacement fuels for a greener, sustainable future Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 418013 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Combatting antimicrobial resistance Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Data driven biology Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413282 Exploiting new ways of working
Energy Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 418013 Partnerships
Food, nutrition and health – Nutrition Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health – Food safety Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Food, nutrition and health – Nutritional enhancement Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health
Global Food Security Programme Riaz Bhunnoo riaz.bhunnoo@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442194 Partnerships
Healthy ageing across the lifecourse Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352 Bioscience for health,
Partnerships
Integrative microbiome research Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413393 Agriculture and food security,
Bioscience for health,
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy,
Exploiting New Ways of Working
New strategic approaches to industrial biotechnology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413359 Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy
Reducing waste in the food chain Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669 Agriculture and food security
The replacement, refinement and reduction (3Rs) in research using animals Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386 Partnerships
Sustainably enhancing agricultural production Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442526 Agriculture and food security
Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206 Exploiting new ways of working
Systems approaches to the biosciences Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206 Exploiting new ways of working
Technology development for the biosciences Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413240 Exploiting new ways of working
Welfare of managed animals Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386 Partnerships

If you have any queries regarding areas of science within BBSRC remit, please use this contact list:

Science area contacts

Science area Contact Email Phone
Ageing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352
Agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413225
Agri-engineering and precision agriculture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413190
Animal diseases (excluding FBZ and TSEs) Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442196
Animal welfare Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386
Anti-microbial resistance Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669
Aquaculture Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386
Bioenergy Ian Stanton ian.stanton@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413236
Bioimaging Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413240
Bioinformatics and e-Science Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413282
Cell biology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413359
Crop science Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413190
Developmental biology Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352
Diet and health (humans) Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352
Ecosystems including agri-ecosystems Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442526
Environmental science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414653
Epigenetics Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413352
Facilities – Sequencing Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206
Facilities – Computing Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413282
Facilities – STFC based Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413359
Food security Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413225
Food waste Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669
GM Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413190
Horticulture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413190
Industrial biotechnology David MacDougall david.macdougall@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413318
Insect pollination Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414653
Livestock production Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413225
Immunology Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442195
Microbial food safety (inc TSEs) Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669
Microbiology Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669
Multi-Scale Biology Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206
Nanotechnology Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413240
Neuroscience and behaviour (including human psychology) Melissa Lennartz-Walker melissa.lennartz-walker@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442195
Nutritional enhancement of crops/animals and food Adam Staines adam.staines@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414669
Omic’s technologies: genomics, proteomics and metabolomics etc. Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206
One health Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442196
Pharmaceuticals Alex Amey alex.amey@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413254
Plant science (including trees) Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414653
Regenerative biology Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386
Soil science Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442526
Stem cells Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386
Structural biology Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 418013
Sustainable intensification of agriculture and food Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 442526
Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206
Systematics and taxonomy Amanda Read amanda.read@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 414665
Systems biology Ceri Lyn-Adams ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413206
Technology and methods development Daniela Hensen daniela.hensen@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413240
The 3 Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement of animals in research) Lydia Darragh lydia.darragh@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413386
Urban agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413225
Water – and interface with agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk 01793 413225