Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Bioscience for Health Strategy Advisory Panel

BBSRC identified Bioscience for Health (BfH) in its Strategic Plan as one of its three high level priority areas for the period 2010-15. The provision of strategic advice in this general area was previously covered by the Healthy Organism Strategy Panel (HOP) as part of its wider remit. With the revised focus of the BfH high level priority, the establishment of a new Strategy Advisory Panel to further develop and refine BBSRC's strategy in the area of BfH in the coming years was required.

Terms of reference

Under the BBSRC strategic priority in bioscience for health (with a particular focus on lifelong health and wellbeing), the panel will:

  • Develop and maintain an overview of relevant research, training and knowledge exchange across the BBSRC community in the period 2011-2015
  • Maintain an overview of the research, training and knowledge exchange activities supported by other sponsors, both nationally and internationally
  • Advise BBSRC on the strategic direction of its research, training and knowledge exchange portfolio, in order to maintain the competitiveness of the UK in line with the Strategic Plan

Additionally the panel will:

  • Provide advice on BBSRC's strategy for 'one biology, one health', and (with the Agriculture and Food Security Strategy Advisory Panel) advise on the animal health and welfare aspects of its food security priority
  • Maintain an overview of BBSRC policy on the use of animals in research


Professor Eleanor Riley (Chair) – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Dr Neil Brewis – F-Star
Professor Ian Chambers – The University of Edinburgh
Dr Deborah Dunn-Walters – Kings College London
Professor Paul Haggarty – Rowett Institute, University of Aberdeen
Professor Adrian Hill – The Jenner Institute, University of Oxford
Professor Jane Hurst – Liverpool University
Professor Jodi Lindsay – St George's University of London
Professor David Kipling – Cardiff University
Professor Michael Muller – University of East Anglia
Professor Jeremy Spencer – University of Reading

Meeting dates and papers