Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee B

Plants, microbes, food and sustainability

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit the funding areas page.

Core members

Tina Barsby (Chair) - National Institute of Agriculture Botany
Frank Sargent (Deputy Chair) - University of Dundee
Roslyn Bill - Aston University
Richard Daniel - Newcastle University
Jeremy Derrick - The University of Manchester
Rob Field - John Innes Centre
Christine Foyer - University of Leeds
Chris Franklin - University of Birmingham
John Gatehouse - Durham University
Jeffrey Green - The University of Sheffield
Claire Grierson - University of Bristol
Kim Hammond-Kosack - Rothamsted Research
Ian Robert Henderson - University of Birmingham
Angela Hodge - University of York
Nicola Holden - James Hutton Institute
Giles Nicholas Johnson - The University of Manchester
David Leak - University of Bath
Donal O'Sullivan - University of Reading
Gail Preston - University of Oxford
Saul Purton - University College London
Michael Roberts - Lancaster University
Frank Sargent - University of Dundee
Gordon Grant Simpson - University of Dundee & James Hutton Institute
Lief Skot - Aberystwyth University
Nicholas Smirnoff - University of Exeter
Liz Sockett - The University of Nottingham
Pietro Spanu - Imperial College London
Derek Stewart - James Hutton Institute
Mick Tuite - University of Kent
Martin Welch - University of Cambridge

For a list of members who attended the last three responsive mode meetings please visit our Recent grant awards webpage (see related links above).

Meeting dates


7-8 February


2-3 February

11-12 May

22-23 September


18-19 February

21-22 May

16-17 September


25-26 February

20-21 May

23-24 September


19-20 February

21-22 May

11-12 September


Research Committee B