Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee E

Responsible for the award of fellowships and other personal awards

The Committee will:

  • undertake the peer review of Fellowships and other personal awards, and applications for other people movement schemes according to BBSRC processes and best practice, and to provide recommendations for awards to BBSRC Executive
  • provide mentoring, support and regular feedback to Fellows through face-to-face visits and meetings, through the annual appraisal system and attendance at Fellows' Induction Seminars and the biennial Fellows Conference organised by BBSRC
  • provide input to BBSRC and its strategy advisory panels and sub-groups on the recommendations it makes on the award of fellowships and other personal awards

Committee E will also be represented on:

  • Research Advisory Panel through the Chair of the Committee
  • Portfolio Monitoring Group, reporting to Bioscience Skills and Careers Strategy Advisory Panel
  • Cross-Council Fellowships Panels
  • Training Grant Assessment Panels

It meets 3 times a year:

  • March (fellowship interviews shortlisting)
  • October (fellows annual appraisals, new fellows induction seminar and fellowship interviews shortlisting)
  • December (fellowship competition sift; update on mid-term review presentations from David Phillips)

Other meetings as required: including fellowship interview panels in April and November and departmental engagement visits. Members may also attend other BBSRC conferences including the biennial fellows conference.


We aim to have 16 members (including the Chair):

Richard Bardgett (Chair) - The University of Manchester
Martin Sheldon (Deputy Chair) - Swansea University
John Birch - Independent
Alexandra Brand - University of Aberdeen
Ian Eggleston - University of Bath
Donna Davies - University of Southampton
Peter Doyle - Unilever
Ian Furner - University of Cambridge
David Gavaghan - University of Oxford
Susan Healy - University of St Andrews
David Jones - University College London
Wendy Nicholson - The University of Edinburgh
Helen Osborn - University of Reading
Alan Raybould - Syngenta
Greg Tucker - The University of Nottingham
Andy Wells - Charnwood Technical Consulting Ltd

Meeting dates


22-23 March


23 March

30 April – 1 May (fellowship interviews)

15-16 October

12-13 November (fellowship interviews)

15 December


21 March

1-2 May (fellowship interviews)

14-16 October

11-12 November (fellowship interviews)

17 December


22 March

10-11 October

6 December