Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

ARC: Steering group and management

The Steering group includes both industrial and academic experts ensuring high quality, relevant research is funded. They:

  • establish the nature of research to be funded in each call
  • assess applications before making recommendations to Research Councils
  • are involved with the annual and final report reviews for funded projects which provide valuable feedback to researchers in project development and industrial application
  • play a key role in ensuring the club builds a community, encouraging interaction between industry and research teams at UK universities and institutes


Professor Quintin McKellar (Chair) - University of Hertfordshire

Academic members

Professor Alan Archibald - The Roslin Institute
Dr Bryan Charleston - The Pirbirght Institute
Professor Eileen Devaney - University of Glasgow
Professor Laura Green - The University of Warwick
Professor Tom Humphrey - Swansea University
Professor Jamie Leigh - The University of Nottingham
Professor Randolph Richards - University of Stirling

Industrial members

Mr Derek Armstrong - BPEX
Professor Willie Donachie - Moredun Scientific
Dr Theo Kanellos - Zoetis
Mr Ray Keatinge - Dairy Co
Mr Kim Matthews - EBLEX
Dr Alan Mileham - Genus
Dr Ian Tarpey - MSD Animal Health

The club is managed by BBSRC and research projects are awarded BBSRC grants using peer review processes as fully public funded research.

We have appointed external coordinators to work with the academic community to develop project proposals, monitor progress of funded projects and facilitate networking between the funded research groups and industry (contact details below).