Share this page:
Other services (opens in new window)
Sets a cookie

DRINC: Steering group and management

The Steering group includes both industrial and academic experts ensuring high quality, relevant research is funded. They:

  • establish the nature of research to be funded in each call
  • assess applications before making recommendations to Research Councils
  • are involved with the annual and final report reviews for funded projects which provide valuable feedback to researchers in project development and industrial application
  • play a key role in ensuring the club builds a community, encouraging interaction between industry and research teams at UK universities and institutes

DRINC2 Industrial members

Dr Mark Fowler (Chair) - Nestlé
Dr Sue Gatenby - PepsiCo UK and Ireland
Dr Katie Newens - SugarNutrition UK
Dr David Mela - Unilever
Dr Charlotte Parker - Sainsbury's
Dr Belinda Quick - Danone
Dr Julian Stowell - DuPont
Professor Steven Walker - Campden BRI

DRINC2 Academic members

Professor Mark Conner - University of Leeds
Professor John Mathers - Newcastle University
Professor Clare Mills - The University of Manchester
Professor Peter Morgan - Rowett Institute of Nutrition and Health, University of Aberdeen
Dr Fotis Spyropoulos - University of Birmingham
Dr Mark Williams - University of East Anglia
Professor Parveen Yaqoob - University of Reading

The club is managed by BBSRC and research projects are awarded BBSRC grants using peer review processes as fully public funded research.

We have appointed an external coordinator to work with the academic community to develop project proposals, monitor progress of funded projects and facilitate networking between the funded research groups and industry (contact details below).

External contact

Jayne Brookman, DRINC coordinator

mob: 07957 543753


Jennifer Postles

tel: 01793 413366