Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Strategic LoLa Committee


The Strategic LoLa Committee (SLC) comprises:

  • 3 members of BBSRC Council (including both academic and industrial members)
  • Chairs and Deputy Chairs of the 4 Research Committees
  • Chairs of Follow-on fund and Committee E
  • Additional members may be invited as appropriate

In attendance: Executive Directors and Associate Director of BBSRC's Science Group and Innovation and Skills Group and Heads of Strategy Sectors.

Terms of reference

  • To evaluate Strategic LoLa proposals at both the outline and full proposal stages and consider their relevance to strategic priorities, impact, and the BBSRC skills and capability agenda
  • To integrate the assessment with the scientific evaluation received from the relevant Research Committee
  • To ensure that strategic LoLa awards complement existing and future BBSRC funding priorities to provide a balanced portfolio of large research grant investments across the entire BBSRC remit
  • To create a rank-ordered list of outlines and use this list to invite a number of full proposals based on the potential available funding, as determined by BBSRC
  • To create a rank-ordered list of full proposals and recommend funding of top-ranking proposals. BBSRC Council has a role in overseeing the entire process to ensure transparency

SLC members at 2015 meeting (7/8 July 2015)

Professor Sarah Gurr (Member of BBSRC Council) – University of Exeter
Professor Fiona Tomley (Chair, Committee A) – Royal Veterinary College
Dr Andrew Devitt (Deputy Chair, Committee A) – Aston University
Professor Tina Barsby (Chair, Committee B) – National Institute of Agricultural Botany
Professor Julian Ketley (Co-opted Deputy Chair, Committee B) – University of Leicester
Professor Simon Hubbard (Chair, Committee C) – The University of Manchester
Professor David Stephens (Deputy Chair, Committee D) – University of Bristol
Dr Paul Thomas (Chair, Follow on Fund Committee) – Cambridge Enterprise
Dr Joe Adams (Co-opted member) – GlaxoSmithKline