Share this page:
Other services (opens in new window)
Sets a cookie

New Year Honours 2008

9 January 2008

The following were announced in the New Year Honours list 2008.

Those directly associated with BBSRC

  • OBE
    • Professor Jean Manson – Head of Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathy, Roslin Institute
  • MBE
    • Mr Edward Deverson – Head of Division, Estates and Facilities, Babraham Institute
    • Professor Brian Kerry – Head of Nematode Interactions Unit, Rothamsted Research

Those indirectly associated with BBSRC

  • Knighthood
    • Professor John Bell – Regius Professor of Medicine, University of Oxford
    • Professor Timothy O’Shea FRSE – Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Edinburgh
    • Professor John Savill FRSE – Head of the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, University of Edinburgh
    • Professor Ian Wilmut FRS FRSE – Director, Scottish Centre for Regenerative Medicine
  • DBE
    • Professor Kay Davies FRS – Professor of Anatomy, University of Oxford
  • CBE
    • Professor Brian Spratt – Professor of Molecular Microbiology, Imperial College London
    • Professor Michael Ferguson FRS FRSE – Professor of Molecular Parasitology and Co-Director of Post-Genomics and Molecular Interactions Centre, University of Dundee
    • Professor Martyn Poliakoff FRS – Research Professor in Chemistry, University of Nottingham
  • CB
    • Dr Deborah Reynolds – lately Chief Veterinary Officer, DEFRA


External Relations Unit