Related links

External links

Share this page:
Other services (opens in new window)
Sets a cookie

Response to recommendations made by House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee report on nanotechnologies and food

8 January 2010

Research Councils UK (RCUK) welcomes the new report from the House of Lords Science and Technology Select Committee on Nanotechnologies and Food and will consider the recommendations made.

As a result of the RCUK Nanoscience: through Engineering to Application programme the Research Councils support a wide portfolio of nanotechnology research in areas such as nanotoxicology, nanometrology, nanotechnology-based sensor devices, food manufacturing and processing. The Medical Research Council (MRC) for example has awarded over £2.5M of funding to research projects investigating the area of nanotoxicology alone.

RCUK funds excellent, world-leading research in a wide range of innovative areas including nanotechnology and will continue to support pioneering research in this field.

About Research Councils UK

Research Councils UK is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils. We invest annually around £3Bn in research. Our focus is on excellence with impact. We nurture the highest quality research, as judged by international peer review providing the UK with a competitive advantage. Global research requires we sustain a diversity of funding approaches, fostering international collaborations, and providing access to the best facilities and infrastructure, and locating skilled researchers in stimulating environments. Our research achieves impact – the demonstrable contribution to society and the economy made by knowledge and skilled people. To deliver impact, researchers and businesses need to engage and collaborate with the public, business, government and the third sector.

The 7 UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC)
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC)
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  • Medical Research Council (MRC)
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

External contact

Jane Wakefield, RCUK Press Officer
tel: 01793 444592


BBSRC Media Office

tel: 01793 414694