Research Committee C

Genes, development and STEM* approaches to biology

*Science Technology Engineering and Maths – Committee C will consider generic STEM approaches to biology; specific applications will be considered by the Committee providing the appropriate biological context

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit the funding areas page.

Core members

Simon Hubbard (Chair) - The University of Manchester
Constanze Bonifer (Deputy Chair) - University of Birmingham
Jurg Bahler - University College London
Timothy Barraclough - Imperial College London
Conrad Bessant - Cranfield University
Jeremy Brown - Newcastle University
Sarah Cartmell - The University of Manchester
Juliet Coates - University of Birmingham
Russell Cox - University of Bristol
Joao de Magalhaes - University of Liverpool
Dmitry Filatov - University of Oxford
Mark Girolami - University College London
Berthold Gottgens - University of Cambridge
Mike Hann - GlaxoSmithKline
Stuart Hassard - DeltaDot Ltd
Pawel Herzyk - University of Glasgow
Rob Krams - Imperial College London
Susan Lindsay - Newcastle University
Edward Louis - University of Leicester
Ketan Patel - University of Reading
Sari Pennings - The University of Edinburgh
Stefan Przyborski - Durham University/Reinnervate Ltd
Robert Sablowski - John Innes Centre
Andrea Streit - King's College London
Neil Thomas - The University of Nottingham

Members at last meeting 13RM2 (11-12 September 2013)

Professor Simon Hubbard (Chair) - The University of Manchester
Professor Constanze Bonifer (Deputy Chair) - University of Birmingham

Core members

Professor Tim Baraclough - Imperial College London
Dr Juliet Coates - University of Birmingham
Professor Berthold Gottgens - University of Cambridge
Dr Stuart Hassard - DeltaDot
Dr Sari Pennings - University of Edinburgh
Professor Stefan Przyborski - Durham University, Reinnervate Ltd

Pool members

Dr Daniela Barilla - University of York
Professor David Elliot - Newcastle University
Professor Dianne Ford - Newcastle University
Professor John Hunt - University of Liverpool
Professor Tom Owen-Hughes - University of Dundee
Dr Sebastian Shimeld - University of Oxford
Dr William Spooner - Eagle Genomics
Dr Eran Tauber - University of Leicester
Professor Paul Townsend - The University of Manchester
Dr Helen White-Cooper - Cardiff University
Dr Steven Russell - University of Cambridge

Meeting dates


18-19 February

21-22 May


25-26 February

20-21 May

23-24 September


19-20 February

21-22 May

11-12 September


28-29 February

15-16 May

18-19 September


16-17 February

25-26 May

19-20 October