Research Advisory Panel

The role of the Research Advisory Panel is to advise BBSRC on the overall balance and direction of its research grants portfolio (includes responsive mode, IPAs, initiatives, highlights, shared calls, ISPGs, cross-Council funding etc), across the whole of our scientific remit (see our portfolio in related links).

Specifically, and as required in order to fulfil its role, the panel will:


The panel's membership is drawn from other parts of the BBSRC strategy advisory system and includes:

Professor Jackie Hunter (Chair) - BBSRC Chief Executive
Professor Richard Bardgett - Lancaster University
Dr Tina Barsby - NIAB
Professor Rob Beynon - University of Liverpool
Professor Robert Dingwall - Dingwall Enterprises
Dr Mike Goosey - Independent
Professor Sarah Gurr - University of Exeter
Professor Simon Hubbard - The University of Manchester
Dr David Lawrence - Independent
Professor Simon Morley - University of Sussex
Professor Chris Rawlings - Rothamsted Research
Professor Eleanor Riley - London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Fiona Tomley - Royal Veterinary College
Dr Steven Walker - Campden BRI
Professor Christine Williams - University of Reading

Meeting dates and summaries


23 January

11 April

29 October


24 January

24 April

8 October


25 October 2012