Home:

Science contacts

If you have any queries regarding our research priorities or science areas, please use this list.

Research priorities

Research priority Area Contact Email Phone
Bioscience for health Lifelong health and wellbeing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Agriculture and food security Crop science Brian Harris brian.harris@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413249
Animal health Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Livestock production Brian Harris brian.harris@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413249
Soil science and agri-systems approaches Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Healthy food
see  Healthy and safe food
Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225
Safe food
see  Healthy and safe food
Brian Harris brian.harris@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413669
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy Bioenergy Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 418013
Industrial biotechnology Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Exploiting new ways of working Data driven biology Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
  Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams (National)

Andy Boyce (ERA-NET)
ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk

andy.boyce@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413206

+44 (0)1793 412143
  Systems approaches to the biosciences Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
  Technology development for the biosciences Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Partnerships 3Rs, and animal welfare Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
  Global Food Security Programme Riaz Bhunnoo riaz.bhunnoo@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442194
  Global uncertainties Brian Harris brian.harris@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413249
  Living with environmental change Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
  Lifelong health and wellbeing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
  Energy
see  Bioenergy
Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 418013

Science areas

Science area Contact Email Phone
Ageing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225
Animal diseases (excluding FBZ and TSEs) Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Animal welfare Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
Aquaculture Huw Tyson huw.tyson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442649
Bioenergy Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Bioimaging Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Bioinformatics and e-Science Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
Cell biology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413359
Crop science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414653
Developmental biology Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Diet and health (humans) Mary Travers mary.travers@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442195
Digital organisms Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Ecosystems including
agri-ecosystems
Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Environmental change Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Epigenetics Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Facilities – Sequencing Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413282
Facilities – Computing Michael Ball

Peter Burlinson
michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk

peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413282

+44 (0)1793 413393
Facilities – STFC based Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Food security Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225
GM Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Industrial biotechnology Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Immunology Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Microbial food safety (inc TSEs) Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Microbiology TBC
Nanotechnology Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Neuroscience and behaviour (including human psychology) Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442196
Omic’s technologies: genomics, proteomics and metabolomics etc. Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413282
Pharmaceuticals Ben Sykes

James Phillips
ben.sykes@bbsrc.ac.uk

james.phillips@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 414676

+44 (0)1793 442149
Plant science Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414653
Regenerative medicine Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Soil science Kerry Wray kerry.wray@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Stem cells Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442196
Structural biology Feodora Rayne feodora.rayner@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414693
Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams (National)

Andy Boyce
(ERA-NET)
ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk

andy.boyce@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413206

+44 (0)1793 412143
Systematics and taxonomy Amanda Read amanda.read@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414665
Systems biology Peter Burlinson

Ceri Lyn-Adams
peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk

ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413393

+44 (0)1793 413206
Technology and methods development Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
The 3 Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement of animals in research) Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283