Home:

Science contacts

If you have any queries regarding our responsive mode priorities, please use this contact list:

Contacts for responsive mode priorities

Strategic priority area Responsive mode priority Contact Email Phone
Agriculture and food security Animal health Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
  Combatting antimicrobial resistance Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
  Food, nutrition and health – Nutrition Mary Travers mary.travers@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442195
  Food, nutrition and health – Food safety Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
  Food, nutrition and health – Nutritional enhancement Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190
  Reducing waste in the food chain Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113 
  Sustainably enhancing agricultural production Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Bioscience for health Combatting antimicrobial resistance SIan Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
  Food, nutrition and health – Nutrition Mary Travers mary.travers@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442195
  Food, nutrition and health – Food safety Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
  Food, nutrition and health – Nutritional enhancement Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190
  Lifelong health and wellbeing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Industrial biotechnology and bioenergy Bioenergy Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 418013
Industrial biotechnology Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
  Combatting antimicrobial resistance Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
Exploiting new ways of working Data driven biology Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
  Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams (National)

Andy Boyce (ERA-NET)
ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk

andy.boyce@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413206

+44 (0)1793 412143
  Systems approaches to the biosciences Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
  Technology development for the biosciences Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
  Combatting antimicrobial resistance Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
Partnerships 3Rs, and animal welfare Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
  Global Food Security Programme Riaz Bhunnoo riaz.bhunnoo@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442194
  Lifelong health and wellbeing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
  Energy Michael Booth michael.booth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 418013

If you have any queries regarding areas of science within BBSRC remit, please use this contact list:

Science area contacts

Science area Contact Email Phone
Ageing Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225
Agri-engineering and precision agriculture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190
Animal diseases (excluding FBZ and TSEs) Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Animal welfare Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
Anti-microbial resistance Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
Aquaculture Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
Bioenergy Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Bioimaging Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Bioinformatics and e-Science Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
Cell biology Colin Miles colin.miles@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413359
Crop science Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190 
Developmental biology Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Diet and health (humans) Mary Travers mary.travers@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442195
Digital organisms Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Ecosystems including
agri-ecosystems
Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Environmental science Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Epigenetics Louisa Jenkin louisa.jenkin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413352
Facilities – Sequencing Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413282
Facilities – Computing Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
Facilities – STFC based Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Food security Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225
Food waste Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
GM Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190
Horticulture Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190 
Industrial biotechnology Charly Cureton charlotte.cureton@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442852
Insect pollination Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414653
Immunology Sadhana Sharma sadhana.sharma@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413099
Microbial food safety (inc TSEs) Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413113
Microbiology Sian Rowland sian.rowland@bbsrc.ac.uk  +44 (0)1793 413113
Nanotechnology Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
Neuroscience and behaviour (including human psychology) Sarah Plowman sarah.plowman@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442196
Nutritional enhancement of crops/animals and food Harriet Trewin harriet.trewin@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413190
Omic’s technologies: genomics, proteomics and metabolomics etc. Michael Ball michael.ball@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413282
Pharmaceuticals Ben Sykes ben.sykes@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414676
Plant science (including trees) Debbie Harding debbie.harding@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414653
Regenerative biology Stephanie Williams-Blackwell stephanie.blackwell@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413219
Soil science Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Stem cells Stephanie Williams-Blackwell stephanie.blackwell@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413219
Structural biology Feodora Rayne feodora.rayner@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414693
Sustainable intensification of agriculture and food Kerry Firth kerry.firth@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 442526
Synthetic biology Ceri Lyn-Adams (National)

Andy Boyce
(ERA-NET)
ceri.lyn-adams@bbsrc.ac.uk

andy.boyce@bbsrc.ac.uk
+44 (0)1793 413206

+44 (0)1793 412143
Systematics and taxonomy Amanda Read amanda.read@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 414665
Systems biology Peter Burlinson peter.burlinson@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413393
Technology and methods development Ailidh Woodcock ailidh.woodcock@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413319
The 3 Rs (replacement, reduction and refinement of animals in research) Merewyn Loder merewyn.loder@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413283
Water – and interface with agriculture Andy Noble andy.noble@bbsrc.ac.uk +44 (0)1793 413225