Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee B

Plants, microbes, food and sustainability

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit our Responsive mode research grants and How to apply pages (see related links).

Core members

Tina Barsby (Chair) – National Institute of Agriculture Botany
Frank Sargent (Deputy Chair) – University of Dundee
Roslyn Bill – Aston University
Richard Daniel – Newcastle University
Rob Field – John Innes Centre
Christine Foyer – University of Leeds
John Gatehouse – Durham University
Jeffrey Green – The University of Sheffield
Claire Grierson – University of Bristol
Kim Hammond-Kosack – Rothamsted Research
Ian Robert Henderson – University of Birmingham
Angela Hodge – University of York
Nicola Holden – James Hutton Institute
Giles Nicholas Johnson – The University of Manchester
Donal O'Sullivan – University of Reading
Michael Roberts – Lancaster University
Frank Sargent – University of Dundee
Gordon Grant Simpson – University of Dundee & James Hutton Institute
Lief Skot – Aberystwyth University
Liz Sockett – The University of Nottingham
Pietro Spanu – Imperial College London
Derek Stewart – James Hutton Institute
Mick Tuite – University of Kent
Martin Welch – University of Cambridge

For a list of members who attended the last three meetings visit our Recent grant awards page (see related links).

Meeting dates


  • 13-14 February


  • 7-8 February
  • 16-17 May
  • 19-20 September


  • 2-3 February
  • 11-12 May
  • 22-23 September


  • 18-19 February
  • 21-22 May
  • 16-17 September


  • 25-26 February
  • 20-21 May
  • 23-24 September


Research Committee B