Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Advisory Panel

The role of the Research Advisory Panel is to advise BBSRC on the overall balance and direction of its research grants portfolio (includes responsive mode, IPAs, initiatives, highlights, shared calls, ISPGs, cross-Council funding etc), across the whole of our scientific remit (see our portfolio in related links).

Specifically, and as required in order to fulfil its role, the panel will:

  • monitor trends in competitive research grant activity (e.g. application numbers, success rates)
  • advise on the effectiveness of the mechanisms through which BBSRC funds research, including issues of peer review policy, process and operation.
  • advise BBSRC on emerging areas or areas of concern (in terms of meeting delivery plan commitments), including any requirements for time-limited subgroups to advise on specific science areas not covered by the sector strategy advisory panels
  • monitor the progress of BBSRC's major research investments such as ISPGs, Centres, sLoLa awards, working with other panels as appropriate
  • synthesise and balance advice and ideas from the science sector strategy advisory panels
  • monitor international activity and advise on its relevance to BBSRC's science strategy


The panel's membership is drawn from other parts of the BBSRC strategy advisory system and includes:

  • Chairs of other Strategy Advisory Panels
  • Chairs of Research Committees A-E
  • Council members of the Strategic LoLa Committee

Professor Melanie Welham (Chair) – BBSRC Chief Executive
Professor Richard Bardgett – The University of Manchester
Professor Ilaria Bellantuono – The University of Sheffield
Professor Robert Dingwall – Dingwall Enterprises
Professor Julian Dow – University of Glasgow
Dr Mike Goosey – Independent
Professor Sarah Gurr – University of Exeter
Professor Stefan Przyborski – The University of Manchester
Professor Eleanor Riley – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Professor Frank Sargent – University of Dundee
Professor David Stephens – University of Bristol
Professor Fiona Tomley – Royal Veterinary College
Dr Steven Walker – Campden BRI
Professor Christine Williams – University of Reading

Meeting dates and papers


  • 11 January
  • 6 April
  • 26 October


  • 22 January
  • 21 April
  • 6 October