Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Research Committee C

Genes, development and STEM* approaches to biology

*Science Technology Engineering and Maths – Committee C will consider generic STEM approaches to biology; specific applications will be considered by the Committee providing the appropriate biological context

For research topics covered by each Research Committee and to apply for funding visit the funding areas page.

Core members

Simon Hubbard (Chair) - The University of Manchester
Stefan Przyborski (Deputy Chair) - Durham University/Reinnervate Ltd
Daniela Barilla - University of York
Sarah Cartmell - The University of Manchester
Juliet Coates - University of Birmingham
Michael Coleman - Babraham Institute
Joao de Magalhaes - University of Liverpool
Meriem El Karoui - The University of Edinburgh
David Elliott - Newcastle University
Dianne Ford - Newcastle University
Berthold Gottgens - University of Cambridge
Nicola Gray - The University of Edinburgh
John Haycock - The University of Sheffield
Pawel Herzyk - University of Glasgow
Rob Krams - Imperial College London
Susan Lindsay - Newcastle University
Philip Maini - University of Oxford
Marisa Martin-Fernandez - STFC
Arno Muller - University of Dundee
Maria O'Connell - University of East Anglia
Tom Owen-Hughes - Dundee University
Madeline Parsons - King's College London
Ketan Patel - University of Reading
Sari Pennings - The University of Edinburgh
Steven Russell - University of Cambridge
Robert Sablowski - John Innes Centre
Jill Saffrey - Open University
Louise Serpell - University of Sussex
William Spooner - Eagle Genomics
Michael Stear - University of Glasgow
Surjit Kaila Singh Srai - University College London
Eran Tauber - University of Leicester
Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova - University of Exeter
Christine Watson - University of Cambridge
Helen White-Cooper - Cardiff University

For a list of members who attended the last three responsive mode meetings please visit our Recent grant awards webpage (see related links above).

Meeting dates


7-8 February


2-3 February

11-12 May

22-23 September


18-19 February

21-22 May

16-17 September


25-26 February

20-21 May

23-24 September


19-20 February

21-22 May

11-12 September


Research Committee C