Access keys

Skip to content Accessibility Home News, events and publications Site map Search Privacy policy Help Contact us Terms of use

Birthday honours 2014

Birthday honours 2014 - 19 June 2014. iStock

A former Innovator of the Year finalist and BBSRC grant holders are among those recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list 2014.

The Queen's Birthday Honours recognise individuals for their service to the United Kingdom.

Among those honoured were Professor Adrian Bird from The University of Edinburgh, a former BBSRC grant holder, who received a knighthood, and Professor Polly Roy from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, who was a finalist in the BBSRC Innovator of the Year competition in 2012.

Professor Colin Blakemore, a former Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council, who has championed public engagement with science and spoken publically about controversial research, received a knighthood in the honours.

Professor Jackie Hunter, Chief Executive of BBSRC, said: "I am very pleased to see so many BBSRC-funded researchers being recognised for their contribution to the UK's excellent bioscience. Professor Colin Blakemore's Knighthood for his outstanding efforts to communicate science to wider society deserves a special mention. BBSRC is a firm believer in the importance of public discussion about science, even when this can be challenging, as with animal research or GM. Professor Blakemore endured more challenges than most, including threats to his family's safety, yet still showed extraordinary passion for open communication about scientific issues of public importance."

The full list of Birthday Honours recipients connected to BBSRC is:

Knights Bachelor

  • Professor Adrian Bird – The University of Edinburgh, former BBSRC grant holder

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

  • Professor Sarah Cleaveland – University of Glasgow, BBSRC grant holder
  • Professor Julie Fitzpatrick – Scientific Director, Moredun Research Institute and Chief Executive, Moredun Foundation, former BBSRC grant holder
  • Professor Polly Roy – London School of Hygeine and Tropical Medicine, Innovator of the Year finalist 2012 and BBSRC grant holder

Members of the Order of the British Empire

  • Dr Andrew Treharne – Chairman of UK Biology Competitions, who has worked closely with BBSRC on public engagement activities

BBSRC would also like to extend its congratulations to Professor David Delpy, the former chief executive of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council who becomes a Commander of the British Empire.

Tags: people news